Dental cavity classification is a way to identify the type of dental problem you have. Recording the carious lesions on your teeth is part of the assessment process during a dental hygiene visit. Proper dental care relies on the examination and the National Dental Hygiene Board requires hygienists to be proficient in GV Black Classification of dental lesions. 

In order to fully understand how to repair your dental cavities, your dentist will use GV Black classifications. According to the lesions you have, your dentist will take the appropriate steps in order to repair all areas of the teeth with dental cavities. 

What is GV Black Classification? 

Dr. GV Black is the originator of a system developed to categorize carious lesions. Today, the GV Black Caries Classification system is based on the type of tooth affected as well as the location of the lesion. According to GV black classification there are numerous types of dental caries. They can be identified by class. 

  • Class I

This category includes cavities in the pits of the tooth or fissures on the occlusal surfaces of the tooth. Class I carries correspond to surfaces of the tooth you can see including occlusal, lingual and buccal surfaces. Interproximal surfaces do not fall under this classification. 

  • Class II

A cavity on the surface of premolar and molar teeth usually suffer with proximal damage. Class II corresponds to surface damage of posterior teeth that are not clinically visible. 

  • Class III

Cavities on the surface of incisors and canines that do not require an incisal angle fall within this category. Class III cavities correspond to proximal surface areas of anterior teeth that are not always visible. 

  • Class IV

Cavities on the surface of incisors and canines that require an incisal angle fall within this category. Class IV cavities fall on proximal areas of the teeth and are generally larger versions of Class III cavities. 

  • Class V

This category includes cavities on the cervical third of facial or lingual surfaces.

  • Class VI

Incisal edges of anterior teeth and the cusp tips of posterior teeth suffer from cavities of this type. This class of cavities corresponds to the top of the surface of your teeth. 

A thorough dental care regimen will keep most dental cavities away. However, cavities do happen. Use this simple dental classification guide to understand what type of dental care you need in the case of tooth decay. 

Tooth decay destroyed

How Severe is The Cavity?

Understanding the GV Black classification of your dental cavities is the best way to know what type of dental care to request. Looking inside of your mouth, you will notice the appearance of the dental caries. You can identify them not only by their cavity classification but also depending on the amount of enamel and dentin loss.  

  • Incipient

This type of lesion extends less than halfway through the tooth enamel. 

  • Moderate.

A dental lesion of this severity extends over halfway through the enamel, but it does not include dentino-enamel junction (DEJ).

  • Advanced

When a dental cavity extends through the DEH, but does not continue over half the distance to the dental pulp it is considered advanced. 

  • Severe

Carious lesions that reach through dental enamel, through the dentin, and extend over halfway to the dental pulp are considered to be severe. 

GV Black classification is an organizational system used by professional dental hygienists and dentists to identify the type of cavity you have. You will need to maintain your own daily dental health care regimen in order to prevent further dental cavities. While you cannot just brush away a cavity, your dentist can help you prevent, and repair this type of tooth decay. 

Detecting the type of carious lesions you have inside of your mouth is essential to getting appropriate care. Talk to a professional at the offices of Gables Sedation Dentistry about the right type of dental care for you. Your cavity classification, assessment, and personalized dental care plan is just one call away!